It’s a Small Business Kind of Day…

shop local high desert

Shifting your spending to locally owned businesses doesn’t have to be hard. Do a little urban exploring in your town and get to know new places.

Here is a “day in the life” for me:

Interview with the fantabulous Mike Hong at Hanshik House Korean Restaurant, Catering and Culinary School, on Main Street in Hesperia. (I’m doing an article for The Umbrella magazine on family-owned ethnic cuisine restaurants in the High Desert, and this is one of them.) We will definitely be back for a meal!

Got my car windows tinted at L and R Window Tint on Amargosa Rd in Victorville, current RelyLocal members. My little Toyota looked really plain before, and now it looks SO nice. And my baby will not be fried by the hot desert sun any longer.

While I waited for my car to be done, I walked down the way to see Dr. Sara at Active Care Chiropractic (another RelyLocal member.) I’ve had a pounding headache for days and I wanted to see if she had any space to squeeze me in. She did! (I recommend calling for an appointment though, as they are very busy. I was prepared to be told she couldn’t see me right then.) So I got taken care of there, even got a little time in the massage chair. Ahhh, so relaxing.

After getting adjusted, I moseyed down the street to visit Little Dimples Children’s Clothing on Palmdale and Amargosa Rds. I wanted to see if she had anything for the baby for Christmas. Of course she had some adorable little suits. They were made in America too, which is a double bonus for me.

I still had some time to kill, so I moseyed on back and got some lunch at Rusty’s Cafe. A tasty avocado, bacon, cheese omelette and some coffee. My favorite meal! 🙂 I relaxed at their table until they closed and it was about time for my car to be done.

All those small businesses in such a short time! Great experiences, every single one. I appreciate the service and the personal touch.

Don’t forget that this Saturday, November 24th, is Small Business Saturday. It is the “little guy’s” answer to Black Friday. Try doing some of your Christmas shopping at a local business this weekend!

What locally-owned businesses have you visited recently? 

Leave a Reply

