Danny Brown is right; Love Your Competition!

This morning I read my daily email from Danny Brown, media and marketing blogger with a lot of very real, very good stuff to say.

Why You Should Love Your Competition | Danny Brown.

As a small business owner in the High Desert, a market scrambling to right itself after a long recession, I think competition is important. I know RelyLocal has both local and national competitors in the category of internet directories. (We have our unique selling propositions that set us apart, but they are still competitors.) We also have competitors that provide elements of the grassroots marketing, social media promotion and small business advocacy that we do.

Does it scare me that people might choose to go with someone else? Of course. I believe deeply in what we are doing. I want others to see it too. And I want RelyLocal to be successful and make a real difference.

Does competition drive me to improve, expand, work harder and smarter? Absolutely! I want local businesses to join our coalition because they see that we work harder for them. I want Victor Valley residents to visit our site often because they believe that “Buy Local, RelyLocal” will help our community in the long run. And that will only happen when we continually learn, refine and work hard.

I also have to say that we are working with some businesses who have a great perspective on competition in their industry in the High Desert. They could be cut throat, insisting that only one of their type of business be allowed in RelyLocal, to artificially prop themselves up in “first place”. Instead, they recognize that, to be successful,

  • there is a lot of business to go around so they don’t need to tear other competitors down
  • they need to give top notch service to their existing customers
  • they can persuade the people who go down the hill for services to keep their dollars up here
  • there are needs that aren’t being met and they can build new business by meeting them.

Focusing on these things brings a business into a new stratosphere. Brown closes with a great line:

Don’t hate others for doing things wrong; make them hate you for doing things right.

Haters will always hate, but if I sling mud, some of that mud is always going to stick to me. Being number one by stomping on numbers 2 through 50 just means I’d do well on a reality tv show.

Image: Danny Brown

5 thoughts on “Danny Brown is right; Love Your Competition!

  1. Absolutely agree.
    There are quite a few businesses that “do what I do” here in the Victor Valley. Six Figure, Impload, MyMedia, PrimeConcepts, etc., etc., etc. I cannot say one bad thing about them, almost every client I have met from one of them has not had a bad thing to say about them.
    Knowing your competition on a more than competitive level is great, the partnerships that you can create easily beat out marketing directly against them.

    Mike

  2. That is a great point Mike! We all have different strengths, different things that get us excited about our job. There can be quite a synergy when we ally ourselves instead of eye-gouging. And I’d rather pass a potential client on to a competitor with a strength in that area than take on a job that isn’t what I’m totally passionate about simply because I’m afraid to lose that client. I think it garners you more respect in the long run.

  3. Hi there. 🙂

    First, thanks a lot for sharing my post with your readers here, really appreciate it and glad you enjoyed the post.

    I think your line here sums it up perfectly:

    “…there is a lot of business to go around so they don’t need to tear other competitors down”

    It’s so true. Obviously, in small towns it can be a bit more difficult; but at the same time, there’s one defining factor that your competitors don’t have – YOU.

    Your approaches can make you so different from even the toughest of competitors that they cease to be competition, and instead become companies that get the customers your business isn’t a fit for. 😉

    Here’s to competitive success!

  4. Thanks Danny! I’m always happy to get my fellows to read your blog. 🙂 I’ve found it very useful.

    It can be difficult in a small town, but not impossible. And I firmly believe that the integrity you show in how you run your business will win out in the end. Unfortunately, that is something that sets people apart.

    • I remember when I was living in a small town called Hawick, in the Scottish Borders, when I was about 20. The local bar I went to really made me a regular, by knowing what drinks I like, and what food I preferred, by the day I went in. Now that’s buying loyalty without having to spend a penny on advertising budget! 🙂

Leave a Reply

