Pay It Forward Day is Wednesday!

Pay It Forward, High Desert!

Pay It Forward, High Desert!

I received a Facebook invitation for “Pay It Forward Day” this Wednesday, December 1st. The holiday season is generally marked with more goodwill than usual, but that doesn’t mean we don’t need a little push to take action.

I’m guilty of this myself. Working part time while trying to start a new business and my other half is out of work has sucked up 120% of my income. Its easy to put off “random acts of kindness” when you’ve got zippo in your wallet.

Perhaps that is the problem, though. Its easy to discharge our duty of kindness to others when you can whip a $20 out, hand it to the homeless guy and move on. Nothing wrong with that – that $20 might be a huge blessing to that person and if you have it to share, awesome. When it isn’t so easy to part with, though, we have to get creative. We have to actually think and plan.

So, since I literally could not give a quarter to anyone else, what can I do?

Some ideas:

  • Call some nonprofits and ask if there are events or needs I could promote through social media.
  • Keep an eye out for people who physically need a helping hand.
  • Start looking around my block for things I could do for my neighbors. Raking leaves maybe?
  • Go through my closet and clean out the clothes we don’t wear or can’t fit anymore. Perhaps I can find someone who would benefit from them, or at the least I can take them to the domestic violence shelter or homeless shelter.

The whole idea of paying it forward is that you can help someone do something they might not be able to do for themselves. We all need help, whether it is emotional, physical, financial or situational. I know I have received generous help from others and if I can turn around and pass that on to three more people, the effect will be profound.

So, High Desert, what will you do to pay it forward?

3 thoughts on “Pay It Forward Day is Wednesday!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Pay It Forward Day is Wednesday! | Local Business Spotlight -- Topsy.com

  2. I came across your blog via a post you made on mine and I saw this post. I live in Cambria where the author of the book Pay It Forward, Catherine Ryan Hyde, resides. In fact, she was at our studio, shooting a video spot for a new Pay It Forward charity just last Monday!

    Small world…and a wonderful concept.

    Kim

Leave a Reply

